The Norwich Society

Resources The Norwich Society Book Club Reviews

Book Club Reviews

The Norwich Society Book Club meet during the winter months from October to April. They meet every six weeks in the Millennium Library and discuss pre-selected books about elements of Norwich history. After each meeting a review of the books read is listed on this website.

Please note that the last meeting of the season scheduled for April 8th has been cancelled due to the Coronavirus.

We hope to continue again in the Autumn and will post dates and book titles here in due course.

New members are always welcome. If you are interested in joining the group please email Kala Nobbs.

Book Club Report February 2020

The book club reading for February continued our exploration of C18th Norfolk with the diaries of Mary Hardy. They are four large volumes of these diaries starting in Coltishall and moving by volume two, to Letheringsett. The diaries have been painstakingly and brilliantly edited by Margaret Bird. They give a detailed account of the lives of these small farmers and brewers/pub owners but we rather wished that Mary had been a little less focused on the mundane and told us a little more about her feelings and reflections on her life!

Book Club Report January 2020

The January meeting of the book club enjoyed The Amiable Mrs Peach by Celia Miller. An entertaining romp through C18th Norwich society but the tale of a life devoted to trying to keep up with 'high society' without really having the means to do so.


Book Club Report Novembere 2019

The book group continued our winter season with an enjoyable look at the diaries of Parson Woodforde (1758-1802) who was the Parson at Weston Longville from 1773 until his death. The diaries provide an intimate reflection on the life of the Georgian gentry but also opened a window into the lives of the people who lived and worked around him.

Book Club Report October 2019

Five members were present at the first meeting of the new term of the Society's book club. We are concentrating on the C18th this term and began by looking at the life of our first Prime Minister,Robert Walpole. The main text was Bob of Lynn by Chris Boxall. Although this was a book primarily intended for visitors to Houghton it does give a good overview of the life of Robert Walpole and the building of Houghton Hall.This was a time of wheeling and dealing in order to gain power and influence. It was also a time of ostentatious living both in the building of grand houses but also regarding the entertainment therein. The book group discussed the role of women at this time as they appeared to be silent in the book apart from producing quantities of children many of whom didn’t live to adulthood. Walpole, with a broad Norfolk accent, grubby clothes and a penchant for eating vast quantities of Norfolk apples during boring debates would be an unlikely PM for 21 years in today’s media savvy environment!

We particularly enjoyed a local man’s reflection on the suggestion that the ghost of Walpole’s sister Dolly has been seen at both Houghton and Raynham Halls - ‘Hev she got a boike then?”


Book Club Report February 2019

For our February meeting the Book Club read the Welcome Stranger by Frank Meeres, published 2018 by Lasse Press.

This book follows the lives of the Dutch, Walloon and Huguenot settlers in Norwich 1550-1750. The Book Club has been following a time line this term starting with Robert Toppes in the C15th. 'Welcome Stranger' followed on very neatly from our reading on Ketts Rebellion since it was the poverty noted in the city at that time which led to the City Corporation inviting thirty Strangers to kick start the declining cloth industry in the city in 1566 by bringing in new skills and products. Or so it is said - not all the newcomers took up the offer and some of them were already living in other parts of England.

Meere’s book is well presented and clear; the author’s background as an archivist is readily apparent. That being said it is not an easy read! We liked the way in which the information had been organised and the use of both letters and Wills brought the story to life. Meeres has also completed some impressive detective work on the residents of Strangers Hall.

We had a lively debate on whether we should be proud of Norwich for the way in which these, and later refugees, were welcomed and integrated into the life of the city. By 1570 Strangers comprised 59% of the population in parts of the city yet there seems to have been very little resentment towards the incomers who, within two generations, had often married into the local population. There was one uprising in protest in 1570 led interestingly by a member of the Kett family, which was swiftly put down. In order to maintain discipline the city corporation kept very firm boundaries on the activities of the newcomers who had to pay twice as much tax as the locals, were prevented from adding eggs to their bread and could not buy the ingredients for bread in the market before midday. The Mayor’s Court kept order but was overruled on one occasion by the Privy Council over their attempts to stop a baker making gingerbread!

In the C17th the City wrote to the central authorities explaining the benefits the Strangers had brought to Norwich and concluded ‘we think our city happy to enjoy them”. We agreed!

A recommended read for anyone interested in the history of our fine city.

Book Club Report January 2019

The book club had spent Christmas getting to grips with C.J. Sansom’s Tombland. We also read other non-fiction texts about Kett’s rebellion.

Tombland is a weighty volume, over 800 pages, and is the seventh in the series featuring Tudor lawyer and sleuth Matthew Shardlake. On this occasion Shardlake is sent to Norwich to investigate a murder and ends up heavily involved in the rebellion on Mousehold.

Book club members had enjoyed the book. It was very well researched and, apart from a couple of minor quibbles, we thought it was an accurate depiction of events in 1549. The story of the rebellion is so compelling however that the murder mystery element of the plot seems superfluous at times. We had a good discussion about the aims of the rebellion, the roles played by the Mayor and Aldermen, and debated whether or not the uprising could ever have achieved the ‘ 29 requests’ which were made to the young King Edward and his Protector. We thought it was unlikely!


Book Club Report November 2018

The Paston Letters

The Paston letters are an extremely rare collection of over 1000 documents including letters, Wills and even shopping lists.

They paint a fascinating picture of C15th life both of rural Norfolk and of a nobility desperately trying to keep on the most advantageous side during the War of the Roses.

Official family business is the major topic of the correspondence. Margaret Paston, nee Mautby, wife of John Paston I (d. 1466), a London solicitor, was left to manage the estates in Norfolk while he pursued land claims against the estate of Sir John Fastolf, a career soldier (d. 1459) and one of the major correspondents of the family. Topics of a more personal nature include family fall-outs, parental nagging, clashes with the aristocracy and parties thrown while parents were away from home. In December 1441 Margaret writes to John to ask him for a new girdle as she has grown ‘so fetys’ (fat): she is 6 months pregnant with their first child, who is born in April 1442. The letters provide a colourful portrait of medieval provincial society: feckless sons and aging daughters are married advantageously and a manor house is besieged in a land-dispute. Dinner parties are planned and the topics discussed range from local gossip, the problems of cash-flow and the wool trade to the shortage of good servants. (British Library website)

Book club members considered a variety of different editions, most published during the C20th. Readers found the collections of letters with little or no explanations pretty hard to follow whilst the illustrated and narrated texts made life much easier! Many of the originals can now be viewed on line including the world’s oldest valentine letter held by the British Library.

Book Club Report October 2018

We had five members attend the first session of the book club as we reconvened after our summer break. The book under consideration was Robert Toppes, Medieval Mercer of Norwich by Richard Matthew.

Robert Toppes, born about 1400, was the owner and builder of Dragon Hall in King Street.

The book was, on the whole, well received although the thematic format did give rise to a degree of repetition. This is a well researched work especially considering the paucity of surviving documentary evidence. The illustrations and maps made this an attractive and accessible.volume

The book gave rise to a number of questions which contributed to a lively meeting ably led by Andrea Oliver. What were Robert’s origins? He first appears in Norwich when he becomes a freeman of the city at the age of about 22.

He was already a young man of considerable means.There are few records of the family being in the area before this and it seems most likely that he moved to Norwich from either Bristol or the Low Countries.

Robert Toppes became one of the richest and most prominent citizens in Norwich becoming both the city’s mayor and its MP.

It was probably his wealth which enabled him to duck and dive his way into and out of trouble on occasions, not least when he was accused of co -leading Gladman’s insurrection in 1437 which led to his exile in Bristol. He was lucky to escape with his life!

Toppes married twice and had up to nine children none of whom appear to have inherited his commercial acumen to found a Toppes business dynasty. He died in 1467 and left a detailed will which took over thirty years to settle. Hopefully the many Masses for his soul which he had provided for in his will had proved effective by then!

Book Club Report - April 2018

We had eight members at our April meeting which will be the last until we restart in the autumn. The books under discussion were Colonel Unthank and the Golden Triangle by Clive Lloyd and Bracondale by the Bracondale History Group. We were fortunate to have three of the Bracondale authors join the meeting. The Bracondale discussion was initially a little confusing until we realised that there are two books both entitled ‘Bracondale' but with different sub titles! The first, Stories from a Norwich Street, was published in 2013 and the more recent book 'A Village in a City' was published late last year. I think we would recommend that you need to read both in order to fully appreciate this fascinating part of our city. Both books are well illustrated and thoroughly researched although some readers regretted that there are not more maps in the more recent publication. Bracondale has been the residence of many of Norwich’s high achievers in business, medicine and the arts and has a reputation for being an area for free thinkers and non-conformists. It is an area clearly much loved by it’s current residents.

Clive Lloyd’s book on the Unthank family and the Unthank Rd area was again very well produced and answered a lot of questions about this popular area.It fits well with an earlier book which we had enjoyed Norwich-an Expanding City by Rosemary Donoghue which also describes how this area of terraced housing was developed on the estate owned by the Unthank family. We owe the Colonel a debt in that he strictly proscribed the design of the houses and ensured that they were built to a quality specification. It is also due to him that the pubs are all on corner plots!

Book Club Report - March 2018

The book group had an interesting meeting in early March. We were very pleased to welcome two new members. We went underground this time with the books Subterranean Norwich by Matthew Williams and, as some light relief, a novel, The Chalk Pit by Elly Griffiths. A couple of us were already confirmed Ely Griffiths fans but others were less smitten with the Norwich adventures of the left wing archeologist from the University of North Norfolk! It was interesting to compare her research for a tunnel from the Guildhall to the RC cathedral with the facts carefully collated by Matthew Williams. His lavishly illustrated book is almost a geology text book but gives some fascinating facts about what is going on under our feet. He includes much information about the chalk mines in Norwich which were active from the C12th and which moved outwards as the city developed. We wondered whether anyone has come across chalk miner as an occupation in census or other records? The other section of the book which we found most intriguing concerns the lost watercourses in the city. Who knew that that dip in the middle of Newmarket Street was the course of the Golden Triangle river? A fascinating book which we would recommend to a wider audience.

Book Club Report - November 2017

At our November meeting we had a fascinating afternoon discussing our primary text; Norwich An Expanding City by Rosemary O’Donoghue. This was supported by a look at Norwich in The C19th edited by Chris Barringer which is now out of print but available in libraries. The C19th century saw extensive expansion beyond the city walls, the impact of three new train stations, rapid population growth and the development of the streets of terraced housing which are so much a part of Norwich today. It was interesting that the majority of the terraced housing was built as what we would now call ‘buy to let’. The landowners such as Colonel Clement Unthank who made available land for these new developments, put a number of restrictive covenants on the new properties which specified the construction materials, fence heights etc but which also outlawed a wide range of activities from shoeing a horse in the street to keeping pigs, poultry or running an ale house. Even as late as the 1890’s some new houses were being built with earth closets. The provision of mains water gave rise to much debate in the City Council with one councillor arguing that it was not necessary to supply water 24/7- a few hours a day would suffice. Another suggested that people living near the river should not have to pay for mains water when they could get it from the river for free.